Welcome to my new blog!

Welcome to my brand-new blog, where food and fiction meet.  I hope to share my love of reading and my love of eating by sharing books (mainly fiction) that combine both.

Fiction that contains recipes is a growing category.  A lot of these books are mysteries, like the popular Goldy Bear Mysteries by Diane Mott Davidson and the Hannah Swensen Mysteries by Joanne Fluke, but there are also non-mysteries like Lynn Hinton’s Friendship Cake and Laura Esquivel’s Like Water for Chocolate.

This category of fiction is not limited to adult titles, either.  There is a HUGE list of children’s fiction that contain recipes, such as Kirby Larson’s Hattie Big Sky (excellent historical fiction) and Sarah Weeks’ new book, Pie (a sweet story).  Some, like the adult books and the middle-grade fiction, contain multiple recipes, but the largest subcategory of fiction with recipes has to be picture books that end with just one recipe, like Lois Ehlert’s Growing Vegetable Soup (vegetable soup, of course) or Pie in the Sky (cherry pie).

With recipe-strewn fiction as my focus, I plan to share some of these books and their recipes, make some of the recipes and let you know how they turn out, and just generally keep you in the loop as far as food and fiction are concerned.

Happy reading and happy eating!

4 Comments

Filed under J Fiction

4 responses to “Welcome to my new blog!

  1. Lisa Olsen Gaston

    I know Lynn Hinton! She and I went to seminary together in Berkely, CA many years ago. I enjoyed her book and hope others will as well.

  2. Jane Doyle

    Hey, Cathy, great idea. I love reading those foodie books.

  3. Mariette

    Fun project! I’ve read several non–fiction food books in the past couple years, mostly memoirs by restaurant people.

Leave a Reply

